New committee ushered in

New committee ushered in

The Rotary Club of Lakes Entrance held its annual changeover event last Friday at the Central Hotel.

The event saw the passing of the presidency from Peter Sindrey to the 2019/2020 president, Lesley Mackenzie.

Filling out the 2019/20 Rotary board are:

Jeff Wilson (president elect and youth projects coordinator), Sandy Yeats (secretary), Ian Dunkley (treasurer), Derryn Beattie (assistant treasurer), Arthur Allen (program coordinator), Graeme McGown (sergeant at arms) and Rob Curnow (board member).

Outgoing president, Peter Sindrey, said the night was a great success.

“At our annual changeover event we appoint our new board members. The new president is Lesley Mackenzie,” he said.

“We also use the occasion to present donations to worthy causes both locally and overseas. Some key causes we donated to were the Centenary House in Traralgon, the Tabitha Foundation, which constructs houses in the poorer parts of Cambodia, and the Hope facility construction.

“We also issued a Paul Harris Fellowship to one of our members, which is the highest honour a Rotarian can receive.

“Bernard Abrecht received fellowship. He has been part of the West Kalimna Fire Brigade for some time and was captain for a while too. The award recognises his service to the rotary club and the community.”

More than 70 people attended the function, including special guests: Darren Chester, Federal Member for Gippsland, Cr Natalie O’Connell, mayor of East Gippsland Shire Council, Adrian Froggatt, recently appointed Governor of the 50 Rotary Clubs in Eastern Victoria, Peter Down, chief executive officer of the Hope Restart Centre, Mike Answerth, secretary of Centenary House Traralgon, and Mat Cummins, general manager of ACE Radio.

PICTURED: 9820 district governor, Adrian Froggatt, with Rotary Club of Lakes Entrance incoming president, Lesley MacKenzie, and outgoing president, Peter Sindrey, at the Rotary Club of Lakes Entrance held its annual changeover event last Friday at the Central Hotel.